banter, cats, humour, pets, Uncategorized

MY MOM WENT SEARCHING FOR AN UMBRELLA AND FOUND A CAT!


Hi there, my feline fanciers!

As you all very well know we felines HATE  the rain! But as we three are indoor cats we don’t often get rained upon , thank goodness. So we don’t need raincoats, wellingtons or brollies like the two-legged ones do! It would be expensive since we would need two pairs of boots each for a start. And holding an umbrella in one of our front paws sounds such a tedious business, don’t you agree? I wonder how the two-legged ones put up with all this para-plui-phanelia!

Anyways, guys, this summer has been pretty rainy in our particular corner of the world. My Mom had mislaid her brollie so one Sunday afternoon she set forth in pursuit of a new one. She told me she wanted one with leopard spots. Something like this:

I nodded my head in approval, licked my paw in a leisurely fashion and went back to sleep on a soft white fluffy cushion.

After a few hours she burst in through the front door. I rushed to greet her as my stomach was SCREAMING for food. I stroked myself leisurely around her legs and started to purr. She bent down and chucked me under the chin. But hang on, what was that smell? And what was that black stuff on her jeans?

NOT CAT HAIRS, surely??????

I quickly withdrew into a corner to process this unsettling information. And I gave her a piercing look, the kind of piercing look only I am capable of in my most Herkulean moments. She got the message and then she told me what had happened.

Apparently when my Mom  was strolling along by the castle she suddenly spotted a black cat. A lady was coming along with a dog and the cat looked real scared. He stood shaking  on a small bridge and was very close to the edge  increasing his risk of falling into the water below.The dog lady shouted to my Mom that she would remove herself and the dog so that the cat would feel safe. My Mom caught the cat and managed to get hold of  the telephone  number to the owner that was attached to the cat’s necklace. The cat was black with some white and had a small bend in his tail. He was very friendly so my Mom decided to take him to her Mom’s place which was close by and give him some food and water while waiting for the owner to phone back. At this point in the story  I thought that it was a shame she hadn’t brought the kitty cat back here as he sounded like a real cute and interesting guy. Perhaps he and I and Charlie could have become close “buddies”.

Anyways, the kitty enjoyed a hearty meal and a good drink of water and lay down and washed himself on my Mom Mom’s kitchen floor. Shortly afterwards the two-legged who owned the cat turned up and now Hook is back home again. Happy ending!

But where is your new brollie, Mom? Well, the shops are closed by now so brollie will have to wait for another day. Instead of buying a  felinesque brollie she found and rescued a real live kitty. Well done,Mom, you are the best!

And now I want something real nice to eat, thank you! I feel that the odd shrimp or two wouldn’t go amiss! My new yoga pose is bound to impress!

HERKULES

Leave a Reply

